Nike Women’s Marathon Take 5!

Dear Adoring Fans,

I am writing this from a Holiday Inn in Casa Grande, Arizona. I’m here for the next few days helping researchers from Hawk Mountain Sanctuary with a vulture research project. Over the next few days we’ll be trapping Turkey and Black Vultures and putting satellite transmitters on the Turkey Vultures to track their movements. I’ve never had a vulture in the hand before, so it should be exciting, if a bit smelly. Ideally there will be little to no vomit involved (vultures have this truly charming defense mechanism whereby they yack all of the dead stuff they’ve been eating all over you. Effective? Yes.) So tomorrow morning at 4am we’ll be heading over to the trap site, and fingers crossed, before lunch time hopefully some of the transmitters below will find a long-term home strapped to the back of a few vultures.

971343_10151653071780041_1278126178_n

These solar powered satellite transmitters weigh just 45 grams. We’ll be attaching them to the Turkey Vultures so we can learn more about their movements.

942234_10151653072550041_1173047309_n

Turkey Vultures are our primary target.

480188_10151653072935041_369627810_n

We may also catch some Black Vultures (both are present in the area).

But I’m not writing to you to tell you about vulture vomit. In fact, this is mostly just a placeholder post until I have time to sit down and really write about what I’m doing, but I was too excited to wait. In the meanwhile, here is what you should know:

  1. The 10th Anniversary Nike Women’s Marathon is happening on October 20, 2013, and I will be running in it (it will be my 5th time doing this race)! (!!!!)
  2. This year, 2013 is the 25th Anniversary of Team In Training. In honor of this momentous occasion, I am trying to raise $5,000 to help find a cure for blood cancers. This will bring my “lifetime” total raised for TNT to $25,000 since I started doing events in 2005. Can you believe we’ve raised that much together over the past nine years? Can you believe I have been doing this since 2005? Amazing.
  3. I need your help, dear friends, to reach this goal. Please consider making a secure, online donation at the link to the right. No amount is too small, and together we can do so much. You can make a secure, online donation here.

Thank you, as always, for your wonderful support. And stay tuned for more details, both about my training and the vultures!

Leave a Reply

