Monsoon Teaser

Weekly miles run: 30
Total miles run this season: 58
Fundraising total: $1250 (25%)

Dear Adoring Fans,

A blog update two consecutive weeks in a row! Alert the press!

With the summer temperatures creeping up, we are starting our long Saturday runs earlier and earlier. Today we met at 5:30 (which meant getting up at 4:30), and honestly, it was so hot by 7am that I wish we’d started even earlier. I think next week we’ll push things up to 5am.Today we started to increase our  mileage, running for 90 minutes (which for me is about 9 miles). The longest I’ve run since last December is about 6 miles, so the last three or so miles were not the most fun I’ve ever had, but I finished. I ran with some of the women from my team on the way out, and then with my friend Rick on the way back (thanks for walking with me when I needed a break, Rick!) But I’m not complaining; I can feel myself getting back into the swing of things, and my mid-week runs have been feeling better and better and I’ve been able to go farther in the same amount of time. I’m not quite back to my standard pace, but I’ll get there. Tomorrow I have a 60 minute run on the schedule, so although I am sure my legs will be a bit tired for the first few miles, it’ll feel good to do some running and get the kinks out.

At the beginning of practice this morning we were all gathered up to do some stretching and hear news and updates. Each week our coaches give a little prize to the teammate who has made the most progress on his or her fundraising in the preceding week, and I was happily surprised to hear my name called! So thank you to all of you, loyal fans, for your generous support. I got some snazzy new shoelaces and energy chews, which I will definitely make use of as the season progresses.

Incentive to find a cure for cancer!

Incentives to find a cure for cancer!

Rick and Jennie post-run.

Rick and Jennie post-run.

After I got home I was able to do my very favorite thing after a long run: I took a shower and then took a nap. Oh, it was so, so nice. And then I drove over to my favorite post-run place to eat and I got a bowl of my favorite soup for lunch, so I’m feeling pretty contented right now.

Not completely awake after my nap.

Not completely awake after my nap.

The other bit of excitement here in Tucson is that we had the first rain of the season. Yesterday morning when I went out for my run I could really feel the humidity (aside: when I say it is humid in Tucson, I mean it was Tucson-humid–that is, the humidity was 31%.  I know that this is not REAL humidity, but work with me, people). Running in humidity isn’t near as much fun as running when it is dry, even when it is only 31%. This afternoon I woke up from my nap to see all of these Face.book posts about rain. I looked outside. It was partly sunny with no sign of rain at my house. I stepped outside onto the front porch and everything was dry, but it had that hot, wet pavement smell. You know the one? It reminded me of childhood summers, waiting underneath the eaves of the house for the rain to stop so we could keep on riding Big Wheels or bikes or playing wiffle ball. But I didn’t see any rain. About a 1/2 mile away from my house, though, as I drove to get lunch, the first fat raindrops hit my windshield. It was just a few at first, but then there were enough to use the wipers. It was more like a short drizzle that, in the words of my friend Rick, mostly just turned the dust on your windshield into mud, but it counts as far as I am concerned. It rained here in Tucson today.

Monsoon? Not quite, but soon!

Monsoon? Not quite, but hopefully soon.

Fundraising Update: We’re off with a bang! So far, thanks to your generous support, we have already raised $1250 this season, 25% of my ultimate goal of $5,000 by August 1, 2013. Please consider making a donation to help support the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society in its mission to find a cure for blood cancers. Any amount helps, from $5 to $500–just click here to go to my fundraising page to make a secure, online donation (or contact me if you’d prefer to send a check). And if you are unable to make a financial contribution, your moral support is just as welcome.

This is truly team effort, and I couldn’t do it without you.

Go Team!

jennie_signature

Leave a Reply

