August!

Weekly miles run: 37
Total mileage this season: 212
Fundraising total: $1795 (36%)

Dear Adoring Fans,

Well, apparently two consecutive blog posts is all I can manage. I skipped the month of July entirely in terms of blogging. Fortunately, I more or less kept up with my training, even though I wasn’t writing about it.

It’s been a busy summer, so in some ways it isn’t a big surprise to find ourselves here in August already, with the marathon just two months away. In other ways, where did the summer go? I’ve been traveling a ton since I last wrote. On some of those trips I managed to get in runs; on others, not so much. The field season and marathon training don’t always go hand in hand, but I’m mostly making it work. The monsoons are definitely here, which means we’ve had some cloudy days (good), but the humidity is high (bad–my coach said it was 66% today, which I know, I know, my eastern friends will scoff, but it is enough that every tiny bug that I ran into on my run this morning stuck to me). Overall, it’s been nice running weather, though.

Before I get into any of that, though, I want to update you on two things:

  1. My Honored Teammate, Jan: after a very rough winter and spring that involved lots of time in the hospital, I am very happy to share that Jan is doing much better and is well enough to travel and enjoy some much needed vacation with her family this month. Every time I feel like slowing down or walking on a training run, or when my alarm goes off at 4am and I don’t really feel like getting out of bed to run, I think of everything that Jan has had to go through and just keep going, because I can, and because the money we are raising is making a real difference.
  2. Fundraising: There’s a more complete update at the end of this message, but the long story short is that we are 36% of the way to my overall goal of $5,000. I am trying very hard to reach this goal in the next three weeks, so If you haven’t yet, please consider joining my team by making a donation.

Okay. On to the pictures!

In early July I made a trip up to Mineral, California to visit C. and Louie the Dog. Louie’s hair has grown out a lot since his shave back in March, and with the weather warming up, he was getting pretty hot on our walks, so we brought him down to Chico for another haircut, this one not quite as drastic. (Aside: if you are looking for a groomer in the area, we were really happy with Carol’s Dog Grooming).

In late May/early June I headed up to Mineral to visit C. and Louie (posing for before-and-after pictures here).

In late May/early June I headed up to Mineral to visit C. and Louie (posing for before-and-after pictures here).

In the middle of July I drove up to Albuquerque for a meeting at my regional office. On the way I stopped off at Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge to look for the Rufous-necked Wood-Rail that had showed up about a week earlier. This is a bird that is normally seen in Central and South America and it was the first record for the United States. It even made the CBS national news!

Rufous-necked Wood-Rail!

Rufous-necked Wood-Rail!

My friend Michael drove all night from San Diego to see the wood-rail, and after seeing it and doing a little more birding at the refuge, he and his friends turned around and drove back.

My friend Michael drove all night from San Diego to see the wood-rail, and after seeing it and doing a little more birding at the refuge, he and his friends turned around and drove back.

In late July I spent a week in Colorado, co-leading the American Birding Association’s Camp Colorado, a field course for young birders. This is one of my very favorite things I do each year, and this year was no exception. We had a wonderful group of 20 talented young people from across the U.S. and as far away as South Korea, and we spent the week exploring the birds and habitats of Rocky Mountain National Park and other spots in Colorado. Before camp started, I got to visit with some friends, which was an added bonus.

Can you believe I have known these two goofballs since they were two?

Alani (in the suit) and Samuel: Can you believe I have known these two goofballs since they were two?

It was great to get to visit with Matt one evening.

It was great to visit with Matt one evening.

I stumbled on a swift fox family while I was scouting locations for Camp Colorado and managed to get this video (and play around with iMovie a little bit–apologies in advance!)

A bullsnake pokes its head out of a tree at the Crow Valley Campground, Pawnee National Grasslands, Colorado.

A bull snake pokes its head out of a tree at the Crow Valley Campground, Pawnee National Grasslands, Colorado.

Horned Lark, with lunch.

Horned Lark, with lunch.

Common Nighthawk, by day.

Common Nighthawk, by day.

Campers looking for Mountain Plovers and Burrowing Owls.

Campers looking for Mountain Plovers and Burrowing Owls.

Hiking in Phantom Canyon.

Hiking in Phantom Canyon.

Bighorn sheep!

Bighorn sheep, Rocky Mountain National Park.

The last day of camp at the airport--the Georgia contingent prepares to head home.

The last day of camp at the airport–the Georgia contingent prepares to head home.

As wonderful as bird camp was, I didn’t have any time to run, but once I got back to Tucson I jumped right back in. This week I ran almost 40 miles, including two 12-milers. My runs at the beginning of the week were a little rough, but by this morning I was feeling good and had a great 12.5 mile run, including lots of hills, which is good practice for San Francisco.

Me and my Team after our long run this morning. Can you tell I just ran 12.5 miles?

Me and my Team after our long run this morning. Can you tell I just ran 12.5 miles?

Fundraising Update: After a spectacular start, things have slowed down a bit, but together we have already raised  $1750. That is 36% of the way to my overall goal of $5000! Thanks so very much to everyone who has donated so far. I have a fairly significant birthday coming up at the end of the month, and there is nothing I would like more than to reach my fundraising goal. If you haven’t yet, please consider joining my team by making a donation to help support the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society in its mission to find a cure for blood cancers. Any amount helps, from $5 to $500–just click here to go to my fundraising page to make a secure, online donation (or contact me if you’d prefer to send a check). If you aren’t able to make a financial contribution, you can help by sharing my website with your friends and family. And moral support is always appreciated!

Go Team!

jennie_signature

Leave a Reply

