Catch up

27 July 2014

Dear Adoring Fans,

Do you ever get really behind on things and try to catch up starting with the oldest things first and you never seem to get caught up? Yeah, me too. I am going to start with the newest thing today and work my way backwards.

I’m training for triathlon #3 with Team In Training! On September 7, 2014 I will be in Washington, D.C. to compete in The Nation’s Triathlon. It’s a 1500m (.9 miles) swim, a 40km (25 miles) bike ride, and a 10k (6.2 mile) run. I’ve been training all summer and am down to the last seven weeks before the event (remember way back in the first paragraph when I said I was behind on lots of things? Ummm. Updating my blog and getting going on my fundraising is high on that list.)

So here’s the important part: my goal, as always, is to raise funds to support the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. This season I am aiming high: $5,000. We are already halfway there, but I have a deadline of August 17 and need your help to reach my goal. PLEASE CLICK HERE TO MAKE A SECURE, ONLINE DONATION TODAY.

(Fun fact: Since my first event with TNT back in 2005 together, dear fans, we have raised over $36,000 to support The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Holy cow! Let’s go for an even $40,000!)

Here’s the other important part: I do these events in honor and memory of an awful lot of people. That list is why I keep coming back for more events, and why I keep asking you for money. My personal “honored teammates” are my friend Jan Riggs (Jan will be at the triathlon with me in September! Huzzah!) and my Uncle Kenny, as well as my friend Robb, all pictured in the header image of my blog.

But last fall, just before the Nike Women’s Marathon (race report coming! I promise!) I found out that Jude, the two-year-old son of my friend and teammate Barb, had been diagnosed with leukemia. Barb’s mother had Hodgkin’s disease at 23 and although they successfully treated it, she passed away years later from a secondary cancer that resulted from the treatment for Hodgkin’s. When I heard that Jude had been diagnosed it just seemed like a cruel joke. But Barb and her family have taken it in stride and I’m happy to say that Jude is doing really well. He just finished the first phase of his treatment and has moved on to what they call “maintenance.” That sounds better, but it’s still pretty awful: 5 days of steroids each month, oral chemo, monthly spinal taps, regular doctor visits–and this all goes on for three more years. It isn’t what a two-and-a-half year old should be doing. So in addition to doing this for Jan, Kenny, Robb, and all of the others on my list, I am dedicating this triathlon to Jude, especially.

Jude enjoying a rocket pop.

Jude enjoying a rocket pop.

My training is going pretty well, if a little sporadically. I was in Colorado earlier this month for about a week and a half, leading a young birder camp for the American Birding Association. This Wednesday I head into the field again, this time for 2 weeks here in southeastern Arizona, to co-lead another young birder camp. I didn’t get to train at all when I was in Colorado, and I suspect I won’t do much more than one or two runs during this next camp, but I’m trying to make up for it beforehand (question: does birding count as cross training?). Here’s what this past week’s training looked like:

  • Saturday: 28 mile bike ride, 2 mile run
  • Sunday: rest
  • Monday: TURD (Totally Unscheduled Rest Day)
  • Tuesday: 8 mile run, 1400m swim
  • Wednesday: ??? Can’t remember. It is all a blur…rest day, maybe?
  • Thursday: 29 mile bike ride
  • Friday: 8 mile run
  • Saturday: 2 mile run, 1950m swim.
  • Sunday: 26 mile bike ride, 2 mile run
Look, Ma! There's water in the Santa Cruz!

Look, Ma! There’s water in the Santa Cruz!

Fundraising Update: We’re getting there! So far, thanks to your generous support, we have already raised $2825 this season, 56% of my ultimate goal of $5,000 by August 17, 2014. Please consider making a donation to help support the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society in its mission to find a cure for blood cancers. Any amount helps, from $5 to $500–just click here to go to my fundraising page to make a secure, online donation (or contact me if you’d prefer to send a check). And if you are unable to make a financial contribution, your moral support is just as welcome.

That’s all for now–stay tuned for more, and thank you. THANK YOU. Thank you for your continued generosity, for your encouragement, and for your unending support.

Go Team!

jennie_signature

One thought on “Catch up

Leave a Reply

